top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSt. Joseph's Parish

Preparing to receive Holy Communion (Part 1)

For those who remember, a while back I mentioned a prayer book which had a prayer to be said "some days before receiving Holy Communion." Since then, I was able to find a copy of The Treasury of the Sacred Heart. As its name suggests, it is a treasure trove of beautiful prayers and devotions. Here is the prayer for preparing to receive Our Lord. (PDF)


A prayer which may be said some days before Communion
O Lord Jesus Christ, Whom I aspire to receive in a few days within the temple of my soul, I come to implore that Thou wilt Thyself prepare Thy destined abode, cleansing it from every stain, and enriching it with ornaments worthy of Thy presence. Grant me an increase of faith, hope, and charity; grant me true contrition and profound humility; grant me to sigh, with holy Simeon, for Thy coming, and, like him, to center in Thee alone the ardent affections and fervent desires of my heart. O Lord, Whose throne is surrounded by cherubim and seraphim, Whose presence is felt by all creation, Whose spotless sanctity the angels themselves contemplate with awe, I acknowledge my extreme unworthiness to receive Thee; but animated with lively confidence in Thy paternal goodness, I conjure Thee to prepare me Thyself, and to supply, from the treasury of Thy abundant mercies, for all my deficiencies. O Thou Who hast come on earth to save me, and Who, by Thy sufferings, hast opened heaven to receive me, grant me grace to profit of all Thou hast done and endured for my salvation. Amen.

Keep the Faith!




1,735 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page